You can block specific individuals from contacting you using your user block list, or by clicking the "Block User" link at the left hand side of any profile page. If someone is being a problem you can also report using "Report Profile" link on their profile page.
Use the new improved flash based photo upload tool which you can find linked from your photos page. This automatically resizes before upload so it can handle large images, you can upload multiple images and it's much faster than the old upload page.
Alternatively, if you don't have flash or want to use the old upload method: Modern digital cameras take very large pictures and they will cause errors if you try to upload them to the site. If you resize the photo to 1024*768 or smaller in a graphics programme and save as a JPG or make sure they are under 1mb in size then they'll upload fine. Most graphics software will easily resize images, or we recommend the free VSO image resizer which lets you right click and resize if you're using Windows. Alternatively, lots of digital cameras let you choose a lower resolution when shooting pictures which would also work.
I'm seeing annoying/popup ads on the site.
We don't show pop up adverts on the site and we don't show any adverts at all if you are a site supporter.
If you are seeing pop up or unexpected/annoying adverts on the site, you almost certainly have "adware" or malware/spyware on your computer.
This type of annoying advert software sometimes comes with "free" software you've downloaded or arrives maliciously as a virus and serves up adverts to you depending on what you're looking at on the Internet.
If you're still having problems try posting to the forums on here asking for help.
I want to report another site member
The way to report other site users is via their profile page using the "Report Profile" link at the left hand side. Please don't use the usual contact form to tell us issues about other members.
You need to find someone who is already verified and ask them to verify you after a meet.
One of you needs to be verified in order to verify the other person.
If you're trying to verify another account that you have created yourself or you're trying to verify someone who is using the same PC as yourself, then the verification won't be recorded. We do this to stop people creating fake accounts and verifying them themselves.
As of 11th Sept 2010 it is now possible to remove verifications. If you block the user, your verification will no longer show on their profile and any verifications that they have left for you will no longer show on your profile. If you remove the block then the verifications will show again. For clarity: Removing a verification will not remove a user's "verified tick", it only stops the verification text showing on their profile.
No. Everything (including friends, verifications) stays the same and the only thing that changes is your username
You can manage your blocks on individual users on your block list page (you can also get to this page via your "my account" page).
The "legal disclaimer" is pointless nonsense and all does is take up extra space on our servers. Please remove it if you have it on your profile. If you're worried about privacy please set your account to be hidden from non-registered users on your privacy page (this also hides it from search engines but may take a week or two to drop out of search) and remove the notice (and encourage others to do likewise).
Common sense advice would be NOT to put any information on your profile (here, or on any such site) that could identify you or that you don't want to become public! So for your own benefit, don't post phone numbers, real names or email / instant message addresses on your profile that people might see or "Google".
Some people may put non-identifying pics on their public profile but keep face pics private or for friends, for example.
No. If you (or someone you've shared your password with e.g. your partner) has removed your account via the remove account page (which is the only way your account will have been removed), then like it says on the "delete account" page, your account has been permanently removed and can't be re-instated. Sorry.
Don't worry, this is normal and we do this to protect everyone on the site. After a few days of using the site normally you'll probably not see this message again. We hope that having a site free of spam means this small inconvenience is worth it :)
It's not rude not to reply.
Some ladies and couples get hundreds of messages a day so it simply isn't possible for them to reply to everyone. If you don't get a response, you can safely assume they aren't interested. If you're getting a lot of "no-replies" then you should consider your profile and the messages you send. Are they giving the right message? Are you standing out from the thousands of other guys on here?
We do this for fun and get hundreds of mails a day so we can't respond personally to questions about the site or your account. If we responded to everything that people sent us, we'd spend all our time (and more!) doing that and not improving/running/fixing the site. Or, we'd have to employ customer service goons to read and respond to questions from a minority of users at everyone's expense and we'd not be able to do as much as we can for so little cost to you. We do read all mail you send and encourage feedback. If you have reported a problem with the site we will fix it.
As of Jan 2010 we no longer offer new Gold site supporters guaranteed support on site issues (we will continue to honour the pledge to existing subscribers until Feb 2010). We have increased the length of new Gold memberships from 30 to 35 days, which will benefit the vast majority of folks who choose to take up Gold Site Supporters membership.
The site is pretty straightforward and easy to use and most users don't have any problems. However, we found that a small minority of people made a dis-proportionately large use of the "guaranteed reply" facility (some sending upwards of 100 questions/queries a month!). This meant we weren't able to do things like improve the site, because we were spending a lot of our time answering questions that were (nearly always) already answered on the FAQ pages. We'd rather benefit the silent majority rather than the vocal minority and not have to increase our charges or reduce what we do for free by employing customer service goons and by removing this benefit we've increased the length of the standard Gold Supporter pass from 30 to 35 days.
Here are some things to check, to get photos-by-email working:
1. Double-check carefully that you are sending to the correct email address. 90% of problems are because people mistype their personal photo-by-email address. If that fails, try requesting a new email address and try a second time.
2. Check that the photos aren't too big. Only photos under 1mb will be processed and any larger will be ignored. Most smartphone email systems let you choose the size of the photo you're sending. If in doubt, select small.
3. Check your emails from your smartphone are actually being sent. Send a photo from your smartphone to an email address and check it arrives OK.
4. Keep things simple. Don't attach more than one photo at a time. We also recommend you use a reliable email service like Googlemail.
5. Still having problems? If you're still having problems you may need to upload via the website from a PC. You can find both standard and flash upload links on the manage photos page.